Bucket List of Races Part 1

So I have had to do a lot of cross training this week because my shin has been acting up recently.  Since I don’t have any running events until October, I figured a week off from running wouldn’t hurt me.  I have also been looking a lot at races that I would really like to do one day and getting motivated to start up my training schedule for the Marine Corps Marathon.
My Bucket List of Races

1) Marathon de Paris

Image

Dream big right?  I don’t think it get’s much bigger (for me at least) than this race.  I love Paris more than words can describe ever since I visited a few years ago.  Who wouldn’t want to run by the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower.  Maybe someday when I’m making the big bucks.

2) Disney Marathon

Image

I’m a Disney girl at heart so this race is a given.  Obviously I have dreams of doing the Dopey Challenge one day, but again the price of the challenge is just a little out of my range for a college student right now.  I’ve been pushing it as a possible gift for graduation ( I graduate this winter)!  Fingers crossed that I get to run this race soon.  Ever since the Princess Half Marathon, I’ve been anxious to do another.

3) Rock – N – Roll Marathon San Diego

Screen shot 2013-04-02 at 9.14.49 PM

I’ve heard some great things about the Rock – N – Roll Marathon series.  San Diego is a place I visited before I graduated high school and my family stayed at the Hotel Del Coronado.  The weather, even in the summer, was gorgeous and seems like the perfect running weather.  Plus running by the ocean would make for a great distraction from running 26.2 miles.

4) Tough Mudder

Screen shot 2013-04-02 at 9.27.49 PM

I am super girly girl so of course it would be assumed that I would steer clear of any events that had the word mud in them.  Part of my goal as a runner is to not only increase my speed and distance but also part of this is to increase my mental toughness. The majority of running is mostly mental.  To overcome the wall at mile 20 you have to be mentally tough.  This race would push me to my limit mentally and physically.  Plus, there are marines all over  the course…again I have a weakness for a man in uniform 🙂

5) Color Run 5K

Screen shot 2013-04-02 at 9.46.42 PM

Who doesn’t want color powder thrown at them as they run around.  This race just seems like so much fun to me.  As runners, sometimes we get caught up in qualification times, training and split times that we forget sometimes  how fun running can be.  This would be a great race to run with friends.

To Be Continued ….

Leave a Reply

